Report of the Commission on Ministry to the 134th Annual Convention of the Diocese of Colorado – October 7-9, 2021

The Commission on Ministry works with Bishop Kym Lucas to support ministry in the Episcopal Church in Colorado. We are especially charged with supporting the process for those discerning ordained ministry and helping to guide formation for postulants and candidates in Colorado.

Commission on Ministry Members

Chair - The Rev. Krista Dias, St. Luke's Fort Collins

The Rev. Dr. Linda Brown, St. Luke's Denver Kimberley Hubbs – Christ's Episcopal Church Castle Rock The Rev. Reagan Humber, House for All Sinners and Saints Denver The Rev. Emily Lukanich, Transfiguration Vail The Rev. Richard Paxton, St. Peter's Basalt The Rev. Katie Pearson, St. John's Cathedral Denver Carl Peterson, All Saints Loveland Carolyn VanderWerf, St. Aidan's Boulder/Chapel of Our Saviour Colorado Springs

This past year the Commission on Ministry (COM) spent considerable time reflect on its mission and purpose. The COM prayerfully discerned that it needed to narrow its scope and return to its original purpose, supporting the ministry of the Episcopal Church in Colorado.

The COM identified two areas of focus for 2021, and two working groups were formed. One group is focused on the ministry of the diaconate within the Episcopal Church in Colorado. We found that many people are not familiar with the ministry of deacons and when they learn about deacons, they are inspired. The diaconal ministry working group, spearheaded by deacon Linda Brown, is planning ways to increase visibility of deacons and educate about the diaconate. They are also exploring ways to recruit deacons. This period of time in the world needs the ministry of deacons and we believe that having more deacons will make a holy impact on the challenges of humanity today.

The second working group is devoted to supporting the formation of future clergy in the diocese. The COM developed a new monthly online formation cohort for transitional deacons, postulants and candidates to the priesthood. The purpose of the group is to provide a space for prayer and Christian community. Members of the COM lead the group. We hope that it provides support for those going through seminary and that the COM will have better relationships with those going through the process moving forward. We are considering other ways that we may provide support and build relationship with those who are earlier in their discernment processes in the near future. Those who are already in formation to become vocational deacons have a lifegiving group that already meets regularly. As we move into the next year, we are in conversation with the deacons serving on the BOEC and with our bishop, so that we can continue to support diaconal formation.

In addition to our two working groups, the COM is going through the discernment manual that is used for parish discernment groups working with those who are going through the discernment process. We are working to make sure that it is inclusive, clear, meaningful and that it flows from Bishop Kym's Qualities of Future Deacons and Priests. We are also building in more connection with the COM, so that we may better support those going through discernment, and support our bishop.

Several members who were slated to roll off this year, the Rev. Katie Pearson, the Rev. Reagan Humber and the Rev. Krista Dias, have agreed to continue serving on the COM. It is an exciting time for the COM as it works on the areas outlined above. We are grateful to the ministry of Emily Lukanich and hold her in prayer as she moves to her new call in New York. And we welcome our new members the Rev. Nadine Pope and Sylvia Clahchischilli with joy.

We also want to acknowledge the amazing work that the Board of Examining Chaplains has done to help oversee the formation process for future deacons and priests. We hold outgoing members in joyful prayers of thanksgiving. Thanks go to outgoing chair - the Rev. Mary Kate Rejouis, The Rev. Dennis Kennedy, The Rev. Gary R Brower, The Rev. Merrie Need, Mrs. Kathy Mordeaux, Dr. Gregory Robbins.

Respectfully Submitted by,

The Rev. Krista Dias

Chair, Commission on Ministry Rector, St. Luke's Fort Collins